A Tribute to the Education Legacy of Mandela - Nelson Mandela Institute for Education and Rural Development

Board of Trustees

The highly respected Board of Trustees of the Nelson Mandela Institute represents the Department of Basic Education, the university sector, civil society and innovators in education and rural development. The Board provides fiscal and strategic oversight to the organisation.

  • Paul Kgobe, Chairperson of the Board of Trustees
    Executive Director, Centre for Education Policy Development

  • Dr. Mvuyo Tom, Deputy Chairperson of the Board
    Vice Chancellor, University of Fort Hare

  • Achmat Dangor
    Chief Executive, Nelson Mandela Foundation

  • Professor Xoliswa Mtose
    Executive Dean, Faculty of Education, University of Fort Hare

  • Professor Denise Zinn
    Executive Dean, Faculty of Education, Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University

  • Gugu Ndebele
    Deputy Director General, National Department of Basic Education

  • Superintendent General
    Eastern Cape Provincial Department of Education

  • Makano Morojele
    Director, Skills Development Unit, National Business Initiative

  • Nhlanganiso Dladla
    Innovator, Education and Cooperative Socio Economic Development

  • Kimberley Porteus
    Executive Director, Nelson Mandela Institute for Education and Rural Development

Sustainability and Investment Committee

Respected leaders of the private sector volunteer their time to build the financial sustainability of the Nelson Mandela Institute.

  • Sisa Ngebulana, Chairperson of the Sustainability and Investment Committee
    Chairperson, Billion Group

  • Basetsana Kumalo, Deputy Chairperson of the Sustainability and Investment Committee
    Executive Chairperson and CEO, Basetsana Women's Investment Holdings

  • Lindsay Geddie
    Chief Executive, Integrity Life

  • Makano Morojele
    Director, Skills Development, National Business Initiative


Contact the NMI

Nelson Mandela Institute for Rural Development and Education
at the University of Fort Hare
Office 414
4th Floor, Gasson Centre, 50 Church Street
East London, 5200
South Africa
Postal Address
PostNet Suite 369
Private Bag X9063
Vincent, East London, 5200
Eastern Cape
South Africa

P: 043 704 7235
F: 086 625 2362
E: kporteus@mandelainstitute.org.za